I Ching

# Chinese Runes #

The I Ching, or Book of Changes, is the most widely read of the five Chinese Classics. The book was traditionally written by the legendary Chinese Emperor Fu Hsi (2953-2838 B.C.). It is possible that the the I Ching originated from a prehistoric divination technique which dates back as far as 5000 B.C. Thus it may be the oldest text at this site. Futher commentaries were added by King Wen and the Duke of Chou in the eleventh century B.C.

An I Ching interpretation is performed by making six binary decisions (a hexagram). This is called 'casting the I Ching'. These are written down as a stack of six solid or broken lines. This was traditionally done either by tossing yarrow stalks or coins, although there is no reason why the hexagrams can't be generated by some other means (such as a computer program).

There are actually four possible values for each of the lines; the two on/off values, and a line which changes from on to off or vice versa. Thus one cast of the I Ching can generate two different hexagrams, which adds depth to the interpretation. The sophistication of this method has not escaped modern interpretation, and the four-valued logic has been compared to the biochemistry of DNA amino acids. How a Neolithic shamans' divination technique presaged the basic logic of the human genome is one of the ageless mysteries.

I Ching : is taken from the ancient Chinese "Book of Changes" and it is a form of divinatory practice involving 64 hexagrams (patterns of 6 broken and unbroken lines), which are used in a divinatory way by the throwing of yarrow stalks or coins.

The Sixty-Four Spirits of Time
Below that is a table showing exactly how the 8 Trigrams in row one and column one, come together to form an individual Hexagram. To find out what each Hexagram looks like simply click on the number and you should be able to see using this grid how the upper and lower Trigrams make that Hexagram. To find out the divinatory meaning of each symbol or Hexagram simply click on the symbol or the number in the grid and you will be taken to its meaning. The meanings for the 64 hexagrams come from "Sacred Books of the East, vol. 16 (1899)" translated by James Legge. The explanation of the entire figure is by: King Wăn and the explanation of the six individual lines are by: the Duke of Ku.

        International Institute Of Astrology and Occult science         (REGD 072)
Bhavisyabani, Nuagaon Square,
Vijoy Vihar, Bhubaneswar 2, Pin:751002
Ph:+91 0674 2343574,2343474,Fax: +91 0674 2343474 24 Mob:+91 9437020474


Heera Sankh

Site Designed & Hosted By Suryanandan.Net